Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Fireside Chat with Ly Tran

May 18 @ 8:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Free

NAAAP welcomes celebrated author, Ly Tran for a discussion on her coming-of-age memoir, House of Sticks

An extraordinary account of resilience and self-realization, HOUSE OF STICKS tells the story of a young girl’s journey from war-torn Vietnam to Ridgewood, Queens, and the challenges of forging her own path amidst a new culture and the weight of family expectations.

Certain to appeal to readers of Cathy Park Hong’s Minor Feelings, Tara Westover’s Educated, and Ocean Vuong’s On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous, HOUSE OF STICKS is a powerful and moving meditation on the complexities of the American dream from an immensely talented debut author, filled with heartbreak and wonder in equal measure.

You can pre-order and purchase a copy of Ly Tran’s book at Yu and Me Books here:

https://bookshop.org/books/house-of-sticks-a-memoir/9781501118821

NAAAP will also be giving away 2 copies of House of Sticks signed by Ly Tran herself!

About the Author

Ly Tran graduated from Columbia University in 2014 with a degree in creative writing and linguistics. She has received fellowships from MacDowell, Art Omi, and Yaddo. House of Sticks is her first book.

Details

Date:
May 18
Time:
8:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/ly-tran-house-of-sticks-tickets-306537551067

Venue

Zoom

Organizer

NAAAP-DC
Website:
dc.naaap.org